On a Bench…

The picture below was taken from my last trip to London at The Rose Garden. I was inspired by the beauty and the mood of the whole setting. Engulfed with these sensations, I wrote the following poem;

On a bench I sat as I shed my tears
Surrounded with sadness and fear.
Unaware of the beauty around me,
With shattered hopes, I couldn’t see!
I was blinded, distracted, and alone
I felt cold to the bone!

By nature, I refuse weakness and defeat
Yet today I broke down at my feet.
I felt tired, drained, and stuck.
I was in a dilemma with no luck…
A soft breeze then brushed my hair and I slowly breathed in the cool air.
A small reminder to what really counts
Life and its difficulties I need to surmount.
In a second, everything could be gone
And the whole world will continue to move on.
Observing the allurement, I turned around
Nature with its beauty and solid ground.
Yellow roses with soft petals hugged me
A comfortable throne they’ve given me.
Bouquets of flowers in full bloom
Perfection of a secret perfume…
My mood suddenly changed
Bringing peace and harmony in exchange.
Mother nature a sanctuary of wisdom
A resort to cheerfulness, to optimism…
So on that bench I sat with a smile on my face
And all that dark sadness I was able to erase!

Leave a Reply

